Scite is a comprehensive research tool that:
It mainly covers scholarly articles, but also includes books, preprints, and datasets.When you search on Scite, you can:
This makes reviewing literature faster and helps you understand your field better.
1. Enter the search term(s) or topic that you would like to search in the search field.
2. Click either Enter on your search term(s) or the magnifier to perform the search.
3. A list of results on the inputted search term(s) will be shown.
1. The default search scope in the results list is All. You can alter the scope to either Citation Statements or Papers.
Citation Statements refer to the contextual text surrounding a citation within a research paper, which includes the sentences before and after the citation and the section of the paper where it appears (e.g., introduction, methods, results, discussion). This function helps you to understand the role of cited work and how it is being integrated into the paper. Visit Smart Citation Analysis for more details.
Papers refer to the searching of specific papers related to the search terms, which you can access the analysis of selected papers for a more detailed examination.
2. You can further refine the results by adding filters or change the setting by expanding the drop-down menu on the right.
Other than entering search term(s) or topic, you can formulate your own search query with Boolean Operators to look for more specific results.
1. In the search results page, click on Advanced.
2. You will be led to the advanced searching page to construct your search query. Input your formulated query in the field, and click Search.
3. A list of results on the formulated query will be shown.
Scite's Analyze Search Results feature helps you review literature faster. It gives you a quick overview of your search results, showing:
This tool helps you quickly understand the big picture of research in your area, beyond just filtering or browsing results.
1. In the results list, move your cursor to the right and click on the Analyze icon.
2. You will be directed to the Analysis Report page with contents stated above available.
3. You can have the Analysis Report downloaded in PDF.
While Scite does not provide direct access to the full text of a scholarly work, linkages between the platform and two main sources are offered:
1. In the results list, choose a reference and click on View full text, or Check for full-text from The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong.
2. For View full text, you will be directed to the corresponding source: Access is free for open access sources, while some texts may require subscription or purchase.
*You are highly recommended to install LibKey Nomad to your browser to check the availability of access across HSUHK Library's collectionb from external websites (i.e., outside OneSearch). Click here for more details on this particular tool.
3. For Check for full-text from The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong, you will be directed to OneSearch: if we have the item in our collection, access will be shown as available.
