Skip to Main Content

Enhancing your English Language Skills

Learning English as a Second Language

  • English-Corpora.org
    The database collection was formerly known as the BYU Corpora, which was created by Brigham Young University. It includes popular corpora such as British National Corpus (BNC) and Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA).
  • Kanopy
    This streaming platform provides access to a wide variety of videos in English language, such as popular movies, independent films, documentaries, and education videos. Transcripts are provided and can be turned on and off for listening practice.
  • Merriam-Webster Unabridged
    Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary is one of the largest, most comprehensive American dictionaries with illustrative quotations. It is built on the solid foundation of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The database provides authoritative and comprehensive records of the English Language in the world, tracing the evolution and use of more than 600,000 words through 3 million quotations.
  • Oxford Reference
    The database includes full text of around 150+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Subjects areas include business, social sciences, psychology, English language, computing, general reference, quotations, etc.
  • PressReader
    PressReader provides access to over 7,000 magazines and global newspapers in 60 languages from various countries. It allows unlimited downloads on all devices with on-site and off-site access. Users are able to find information easily with keyword search, topic alerts and instant translation in up to 18 languages on the platform.