Subject Guides: Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) Resources: Project Management

Project Management Essentials

The Essentials of Project Management by Dennis Lock
Call Number: T56.8 .L57 2014
ISBN: 9781472442536
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Fundamentals of Project Management by Joseph Heagney
ISBN: 9780814437377
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Managing your startup's new product development projects : practice your skills with simulation-based training by Shtub, Avraham; Rich, Michael (Dentist)
Call Number: HF5415.153 .S55 2019
ISBN: 9789813277540
Publication Date: 2019
Project management for small business a streamlined approach from planning to completion by Phillips, Joseph
Publication Date: 2012

Integrating sustainability issues into project management
more...less...
Sustainability was adopted by many companies through their mission statement and strategy. However, social and environmental dimensions of sustainability are difficult to incorporate in programs and projects. The purpose of this work is to develop a framework to help ensure that an organization is working on the right projects to attain its business strategy and stakeholders demands. The proposal addresses both the portfolio selection problem and the project tracking phase. The portfolio selection allows selecting the better mix of projects based on the simultaneous analysis of eco-impacts and contribution to organizational goals. Once a portfolio is selected, monitoring aims to control project realization and decide on adjustments arisen from deviations from initial estimations. Both selection and monitoring are modeled as an optimization problem. The authors believe that this conceptual framework has a good potential for integrating sustainability and project management in operational...
Strategic planning characteristics applied to project management
more...less...
This paper examines the application of strategic planning characteristics from prior strategic planning research to project management. Drawing from prior research in strategic planning, strategic information systems planning and strategic manufacturing planning, this research combines strategic planning characteristics derived from a rational approach with a second set of adaptive characteristics to create a comprehensive model. The resulting “rational adaptive” approach is then assessed empirically to evaluate its relevance to PM and whether it is associated with increased project success. In addition, the “rational adaptive” approach is mapped to established PM tools/techniques. Findings indicate that PM is captured by varying degrees of a rational adaptive approach, which is positively correlated with PM success and use of PM tools/techniques. These results suggest that strategic planning characteristics can be effectively incorporated into a generalized PM framework, yielding...
Sustainability as a new school of thought in project management
more...less...
Sustainability is one of the most important challenges of our time. It is recognized that projects play a pivotal role in the realization of more sustainable business practices and a developing theme in project management research is the relationship between projects and sustainability. As the literature on this topic is evolving, this paper discusses the question whether the growing attention for sustainability in project management research represents a new ‘school of thought’ in project management? The study builds upon earlier work on schools of project management research, in which nine schools were identified. The question whether sustainability should be considered a new school of project management is answered by deriving the criteria for recognition as a school and performing a structured literature review on a sample of 71 articles on sustainability in project management, taken from the leading academic journals on this topic. As criteria for recognition...

The AMA Handbook of Project Management by Paul C. Dinsmore; Jeanette Cabanis-Brewin
ISBN: 9780814433409
Publication Date: 2014-06-12
The Oxford handbook of megaproject management by Flyvbjerg, Bent, editor.
ISBN: 9780191796586
Publication Date: 2017
Mastering Project Human Resource Management: Effectively Organize and Communicate with All Project Stakeholders by Harjit Singh
Call Number: HF5549 .S56 2015
ISBN: 9780133837896
Publication Date: 2014-12-12

Business Source Ultimate (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The database provides comprehensive full-text access of journals published in disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting economics and finance.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provide access to over 175 full-text peer-reviewed management research journal titles, which covers subjects in business, economics, management and library and information sciences.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs in English and in Chinese.
ScienceDirect (via Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to ebooks in the subject areas of Arts and Humanities, Computer Science, Finance, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Psychology, and Social Sciences. The Library also subscribes to the Elsevier Journal Subject Collection and Social Sciences Reference Collection from the database, which provide access to full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the following subject areas: Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics, Finance, and Social Sciences.

Hong Kong/Worldwide

Risk Assessment

How new risk management helps leaders master uncertainty by Robert Pojasek
Call Number: HD61 .P65 2019
ISBN: 9781949991604
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Risk management : lever for SME development and stakeholder value creation by Céline Bérard (Editor); Christine Teyssier (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119475033
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Competitive strategies for small and medium enterprises : increasing crisis resilience, agility and innovation in turbulent times by North, Klaus, editor. ;Varvakis, Gregorio, editor.
ISBN: 9783319273037
Publication Date: 2016
Small business management : a road map for survival during crisis by Karaoulanis, Andreas
ISBN: 9781951527358
Publication Date: 2020

Business risk management in the context of small and medium-sized enterprises
more...less...
The aim of this paper is to review the impact of entrepreneurs' attitudes toward the defined business risks on the perception of the future of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). 454 SMEs from the Czech Republic (CR) participated in the research and completed an online questionnaire. Structural equation modelling and factor analysis were used to identify the causal relationships between the examined variables. Entrepreneurs' attitudes toward business failure also have a positive effect on the future of the SME. The perception of financial risk in positive indicators of financial performance and the perception of financial risk as part of the company's everyday life have the most significant impact on future business. Operational risk is reflected in the utilisation of corporate resources, reducing customer complaints about the quality of the company's products and the company's independence of a limited number of suppliers. The company's sales volume adequacy provides a...
A proposed operational risk management framework for small and medium enterprises
more...less...
Background: The gap between small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and large businesses that perform risk assessment is significant. SMEs continuously face many operational risks and uncertainties in their daily operations, and these risks threaten to reduce productivity, increase costs and reduce profits. Aim: The purpose of this article was to develop an operational risk management framework that SMEs can use to identify and analyse risks in their operations and take corrective actions to mitigate these risks. Setting: Small and medium-sized enterprises in South Africa do not view risk management as a key component of organisational success, despite evidence that businesses that adopt risk management strategies are more likely to survive and grow. Methods: The article is exploratory in nature, and a conceptual analysis approach was used to formulate the framework. This study reviewed relevant literature sources on risk published between 2002 and 2017. Results: The four process...
Risk assessment approach for a virtual enterprise of small and medium-sized enterprises
more...less...
A risk assessment methodology for a Virtual Enterprise (VE) was developed to facilitate analysis of the key factors of risks and assessment of the level of risks a VE faces during its complete functioning period. The paper provides a relatively simple and straightforward method to estimate risks and intends to give a concept for mitigating the risks related to the action phase of a VE. A model of the existence of a VE with hierarchical risk factors was developed, which can be helpful to a decision-maker of a collaborative network of small and medium-sized enterprises in formulating risk management strategies and tactics in order to mitigate overall risks of the VE. The proposed semi-quantitative risk assessment method uses for the estimation and evaluation of risks matrices based on probability and impact. This research proposes Fault Tree Analysis (FTA) for determining the overall risk factor of a VE. Also, the Internet of Things (IoT)-based smart concept is suggested for risk mitigation.
Risk management in SMEs: A systematic literature review and future directions
more...less...
Small- and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) are considered as the backbone of European economics and growth; however, their peculiar features and the limited resources drive them to adopt different tools and methods when compared to large companies. In particular, the approach adopted in SMEs for Risk Management (RM) seems not to be specifically studied and understood. To this extent, the aim of the paper is to outline the development and the state of the art of RM in SMEs, grasping new future research opportunities in this field. By conducting a systematic literature review with bibliometric tools, 61 papers published until the end of 2016 have been selected and analysed. They demonstrate that some RM streams, such as financial RM and Enterprise RM, are among the most studied in the literature. However, a holistic approach is still not diffused nor sufficiently developed in SMEs, even if the types of identified risks are increasing. There are new emerging RM streams. In particular,...
The Impact of Internal, External and Enterprise Risk Management on the Performance of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
more...less...
This paper aims to develop the role of internal factors, external factors, and risk management variables on MSMEs' business performance. This research was conducted in underdeveloped regions of five provinces, which includes 14 cities in Indonesia-East Java, West Sumatra, North Sumatra, West Nusa Tenggara, and East Nusa Tenggara. The Resource-based view and Market-based view methods were chosen to measure 1401 data of MSMEs. The data was collected using offline questionnaires then processed using SPSS. This paper demonstrates a remarkable outcome for MSMEs, showing the significant result of risk management factors that includes risk assessment of marketing and financial management. Other independent variables of internal, external, and risk management factors also show important outcomes on MSMEs performance. This paper offers additional value of the implementation of ERM in MSMEs, which are spread in underdeveloped regions in Indonesia. The findings shown that the activity of...

Induction series. Hazard identification & risk control (5 mins)
A successful hazard management program is essential to ensuring the safety of everyone in the workplace. It involves hazard identification, assessment of the risks and the implementation of control measures. An important component of this program is the consultation between workers who are exposed to the hazards and officers or supervisors from the area concerned.
Hazard management (21 mins)
This training video shows viewers step by step how to carry out a successful workplace inspection and how to eliminate or manage any potential hazards that have been identified. The package has been designed to train all staff (especially managers, supervisors and health & safety personnel) in identifying, assessing and controlling workplace hazards.

Cost Benefit Analysis

Cost-Benefit Analysis by Per-Olov Johansson; Bengt Kriström
ISBN: 9781108660624
Publication Date: 2018-05-24
Cost-Benefit Analysis for Project Appraisal by Per-Olov Johansson; Bengt Kriström
Call Number: HD47.4 .J64 2016
ISBN: 9781107121027
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
Creative cost-benefits reinvention how to reverse commoditization hell in the age of customer capitalism by Christian Dussart
ISBN: 9780230105300
Publication Date: 2011-01-19

Business Models For SMEs In Bandung: Swot Analysis
more...less...
The main objective of this study is to find the model business for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with management strategy and business strategy approach. This research to help researchers, owners of SMEs and government in developing a framework for management strategy and business strategy on how the best result of business models. This study is valuable considering the limited among of empirical work previously done on the topic in question. The result of management strategies is internal and external factor analysis than analysis with strength, weakness, opportunities, and treatment (SWOT).
Cost Benefits of Using Machine Learning Features in NIDS for Cyber Security in UK Small Medium Enterprises (SME)
more...less...
Cyber security has made an impact and has challenged Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) in their approaches towards how they protect and secure data. With an increase in more wired and wireless connections and devices on SME networks, unpredictable malicious activities and interruptions have risen. Finding the harmony between the advancement of technology and costs has always been a balancing act particularly in convincing the finance directors of these SMEs to invest in capital towards their IT infrastructure.
CPA Australia Survey: Hong Kong's small businesses are becoming more tech savvy and experiencing positive business conditions
more...less...
Hong Kong small businesses that are investing in technology are enjoying quick returns on their investment, which is leading to the sector topping small businesses from other advanced economies in the adoption of technology.

The findings, from CPA Australia's ninth annual Asia-Pacific Small Business Survey, follow extensive surveying of nearly 3,000 small business operators in Hong Kong, Mainland China, Malaysia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand.
Risk Prevention Strategies and the SWOT Analysis for the Implementation of the SMEs’ Business Plan
more...less...
This theme is targeting the importance of implementing the business plan of a small and medium company that has as aim the creation of the added value through research and innovation in the management of human resources performance based on information technology domain. The objective is to increase the economic competitiveness and development of knowledge-based economy whereas by the implementation of the project, it increases the company‟s profitability, creating a competitive advantage resulting in innovative products, as well as the effectiveness of companies that use human resources evaluation platform. The need identified on the market to which the SMEs wish to answer by implementing the plan is represented by the nationwide lack of a complex solution covering both the evaluation and the management of human resources performances. The used methodology can be found in the analysis, developing a strategy for preventing financial, human, market, marketing - image risks and...
A SWOT analysis of competitive knowledge from social media for a small start-up business

Financial analysis (21 mins)
Stakeholders can analyze financial statements to determine a business's performance. The Dupont decomposition technique can break down summaries of performance into useful data about a company's margin, turnover, and leverage.
Yongwook Paik defines SWOT analysis (1 min)
Assistant Professor Yongwook Paik defines SWOT analysis as the evaluation of an organization's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.
Strategy and research methods development (67 mins)
This lecture, presented by Donald Bergh, discusses strategy and research methods development.

Marketing Strategy

Consumer behavior : building marketing strategy by Mothersbaugh, David L.; Hawkins, Del I., ;Kleiser, Susan Bardi
Call Number: HF5415.33.U6 H38 2020
ISBN: 9781260566482
Publication Date: 2020
Digital Marketing by Dave Chaffey; Fiona Ellis-Chadwick
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .C4113 2019
ISBN: 9781292241579
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
International marketing strategy : analysis, development and implementation by Doole, Isobel, 1954- ; Lowe, Robin, 1945- ;Kenyon, Alexandra J., 1966-
Call Number: HF1416 .P49 2019
ISBN: 9781473758742
Publication Date: 2019

Formation of marketing strategies of enterprises in the market of logistics services in the context of world trends
more...less...
The article considers the problems of formation of marketing strategies of enterprises in the market of logistics services in the context of global trends. It was carried out the analysis of global trends and the market of transport and logistics services of Ukraine. It was determined the contribution of the transport and logistics services sector to the economy of Ukraine. The volumes of the market of logistics services in Ukraine are analyzed and their dependence on tendencies of change of business activity in the industry, a situation in the field of foreign trade that is reflected in indicators of change of volume of the rendered transport services is introduced.
Marketing strategy in emerging markets: a conceptual framework
more...less...
Citing difference between emerging and developed markets, scholars highlight need for different approaches to marketing in emerging markets. In this paper, we argue that while there are some unique characteristics of emerging markets, all countries within emerging markets do not have similar levels of product penetration and consumption. As a result, it is wrong to assume that emerging markets are untapped and under-served across the product categories. To a list of characteristics identified as unique to emerging markets, we add large population as an important characteristic and discuss its strategic implications. We develop a conceptual framework that factors in combined effect of varying degrees of product penetration & consumption levels with large population of emerging market countries. The conceptual framework identifies four strategic alternatives for marketing in emerging markets. Instead of recommending any generic marketing strategy, we propose that marketers need...
Research in marketing strategy
more...less...
Marketing strategy is a construct that lies at the conceptual heart of the field of strategic marketing and is central to the practice of marketing. It is also the area within which many of the most pressing current challenges identified by marketers and CMOs arise. We develop a new conceptualization of the domain and sub-domains of marketing strategy and use this lens to assess the current state of marketing strategy research by examining the papers in the six most influential marketing journals over the period 1999 through 2017. We uncover important challenges to marketing strategy research—not least the increasingly limited number and focus of studies, and the declining use of both theory and primary research designs. However, we also uncover numerous opportunities for developing important and highly relevant new marketing strategy knowledge—the number and importance of unanswered marketing strategy questions and opportunities to impact practice has arguably never been greater. To guide such research, we develop a new research agenda that provides opportunities for researchers to develop new theory, establish clear relevance, and contribute to improving practice.
The role of the marketing strategy process in the innovativeness-performance relationship of SMEs
more...less...
Purpose The purpose of this paper is to examine the mediating role of the marketing strategy process in the relationship between innovativeness and organizational performance in SMEs. Design/methodology/approach The partial least squares-structural equation modeling technique was used to analyze data from Brazilian SMEs that belong to the software sector. Innovativeness was considered as a cultural aspect of the firm, which is related to being open to new ideas. The marketing strategy process was analyzed considering its two dimensions, i.e., formulation and implementation of marketing strategies. Organizational performance included variables of market, financial and innovation performance. Findings The results show that innovativeness positively influences organizational performance through the marketing strategy process. Specifically, the formulation of marketing strategies mediates the relationship between innovativeness and organizational performance. Implementation...
Upstream social marketing strategy: An integrated marketing communications approach
more...less...
This article provides an organized approach for managers to develop social marketing strategies that target upstream decision and policy makers. A conceptual application model and five-stage process is presented for an upstream social marketing strategy based on integrated marketing communications (IMC). IMC concepts are described in the context of social marketing, as well as specific stages for creating an IMC social marketing strategy; these include target audience research and determination, channel selection and integration, strategic message creation, and measurement and control. A central and novel feature of the IMC social marketing strategy model is the simultaneous targeting of an upstream decision maker and influential peripheral (upstream) audiences in order to triangulate and increase campaign effectiveness. An IMC approach to upstream social marketing ensures consistent, persuasive messages specifically crafted for the selected target audiences and coordinated through...

What is strategic marketing? (32 mins)
Strategic marketing addresses the exchange between a company and its customers. Marketing influences the exchange of products and services, and the transfer of ideas and emotions. Marketing philosophies, portfolio analysis, and strategic marketing planning are discussed
Relationship marketing (27 mins)
Emphasizes the basic concepts underlying an effective relationship-marketing program and discusses the six major steps involved in establishing a program.
Marketing strategy for small business (24 mins)
Discusses the importance for small businesses to have a marketing plan and a marketing strategy to implement that plan.
Promotional strategy for small business (26 mins)
Many helpful suggestions to aid the entrepreneur in gaining maximum results from small ad budgets.

Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) Resources

OneSearch

Ask a Librarian

RefWorks

Project Management Essentials

Risk Assessment

Cost Benefit Analysis

Marketing Strategy