Subject Guides: Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) Resources: Economics, Governance and Legal Compliance

Economic and Political Outline

Hong Kong's Link to the US Dollar by John Greenwood
ISBN: 9789888754083
Publication Date: 2022-10-30
Hong Kong 20 Years after the Handover by Chi-hang, Brian Fong (Editor); Tai-lok Lui (Editor)
Call Number: DS796.H757 H645 2018
ISBN: 9783319513720
Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Hong Kong in the Shadow of China by Richard C. Bush
ISBN: 9780815728139
Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Hong Kong by Tai-Lok Lui (Editor); Stephen W. K. Chiu (Editor); Ray Yep (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315660530
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Studying Hong Kong 20 years of political, economic and social developments by Lim, Tai-Wei. ;Kong, Tuan Yuen.
ISBN: 9813223553
Publication Date: 2018

Chu, P., & Siu, W. (2001). Coping with the Asian economic crisis: The rightsizing strategies of small- and medium-sized enterprises. International Journal of Human Resource Management, 12(5), 845-858.
more...less...
Hong Kong has been, over the last two years, experiencing the worst economic downturn in decades. What small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) have done to overcome the setback, and how and to what extent, remains unknown. Given the apparent importance of retrenchment to the survival of small firms for success in economic turmoil, this paper examines the processes of the rightsizing strategies of Chinese-owned small and medium-sized firms in Hong Kong. The research results suggest that SMEs in Hong Kong follow different human resources practices at different stages. In the 'restricting stage', SMEs reduce or stop hiring new staff and restrict overtime for the existing staff to deal with decreases in sales and the oversupply of manpower. In the 'trimming stage', SMEs scale down or streamline their operations. In the 'proactive stage', SMEs employ existing staff in overtime work and start to hire new staff at lower pay but with higher technological competencies to prepare for...
Huque, A., & Jongruck, P. (2018). The challenge of assessing governance in Asian states: Hong Kong in the Worldwide Governance Indicators ranking. Asian Journal of Political Science, 26(2), 276-291.
more...less...
As countries in Asia work towards achieving development, the state of governance emerged as a benchmark for them. Assessing governance is an important exercise because a country's image is influenced by its position in world rankings which plays a role in decisions by the international community regarding aid and trade. The methodology adopted in preparing the Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) rankings underlines the preference for some values that are dominant in Western liberal democratic systems. This places Asian states at a disadvantage as other traditional values are ignored in assessing the state of governance. This article examines the methods and criteria of the WGI with reference to the case of Hong Kong. An overview of the critiques of WGI and analysis of the scores awarded to Hong Kong reveal the challenge of assessing governance across countries with the same instrument without taking into consideration the context of the units. The article argues that there is...
Ip, E. (2015). The constitution of economic liberty in Hong Kong. Constitutional Political Economy, 26(3), 307-327.
more...less...
The constitutional foundations of economic liberty in Hong Kong, the freest economy in the world according to many, are little understood. So as the perceived spread of collusion, cronyism, and corruption in the territory ever since the 1997 transfer of sovereignty despite China's promises that little change will be made to the pre-existing way of life. Relying on the analytical tools of constitutional economics, this article argues that the Beijing-ratified Hong Kong Basic Law preserved only the form of the territory's original, British-descended, constitution, not the substance; as witness the insertion of contradictory interventionist mandates, and the consequent reversal of principal-agent relationship of government to the business elite. The erosion of economic freedom over the past 17 years is explicable, at least partly, by the entry into force of the Basic Law, which has transformed the Hong Kong state from the impartial and passive umpire it once was into a partisan social engineer...
Jin, B., & Jung, S. (2016). Toward a deeper understanding of the roles of personal and business networks and market knowledge in SMEs’ international performance. Journal of Small Business and Enterprise Development, 23(3), 812-830.
more...less...
Purpose – The purpose of this paper is to, built upon Johanson and Vahlne’s (2009) Business Network Internationalization Process Model, explore the role of personal networks and business networks and their impact on foreign market knowledge and performance among small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) after international market entry. Design/methodology/approach – With a total mailing list of 2,250 US firms, data were collected via a mail survey in accordance with the methods of Dillman et al. (2008). Findings – An empirical analysis of 105 SME cases revealed that business networks increased foreign market knowledge, which in turn also heightened the international performance of the SMEs. This confirmed the mediating role of market knowledge between business networks and international performance. Personal networks, however, provided little support in helping SMEs achieve foreign market knowledge and international performance. ...
Joseph Yu-shek Cheng. (2017). Introduction – The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region: 1997-2017. Contemporary Chinese Political Economy and Strategic Relations, 3(2), 549-574.
more...less...
In this survey of the two decades since Hong Kong’s return to the motherland, the author chooses to focus on the performance of the economy, Beijing’s policy towards the territory and the development of the pro-democracy movement. These three variables probably have the most important impact on Hong Kong’s political and social stability and its challenges ahead.
Li, Y. (2020). The Irreplaceable Outpost? Whither Hong Kong in China"s Financial Future. China Review (Hong Kong, China : 1991), 20(3), 261-278.
more...less...
Can China turn away from using Hong Kong as its main international financial center (IFC)? This article offers a framework with an international political economy (IPE) perspective that draws on pioneering IPE research into China's growing global financial presence and monetary influence, through which an assessment is made of Hong Kong's future as a financial center in relation to the Chinese mainland. Although the social unrest in the city from the mid-2010s onward has prompted Beijing to look for alternative financial hubs in the region, Hong Kong's contributions have been hard to replace, and that will likely remain the case for the foreseeable future. The analysis concludes by outlining two potential future scenarios for Hong Kong. As China has experienced phenomenal growth over the last three decades, the number of questions surrounding Hong Kong's continuing relevance to China has increased. The city's role in supporting China's decades-long integration into the global economic and...
Lim, T. (2017). The Future of Hong Kong Governance: The Pro-independence Legislators' Election Fallout and Beijing's Political Voice in Hong Kong. Asia & the Pacific Policy Studies, 4(2), 343-353.
more...less...
This article examines the activities, street‐level and Legco tactics as well as the political orientation of the pro‐autonomy advocates, localists and pro‐independence groups in Hong Kong, contextualized within the September 2016 Legislative Council Election, ‘Fishball Revolution’ and Beijing's interpretation of the Basic Law that all took place within 2016. The ‘localists’, an amorphous group that ranges from greater Hong Kong autonomy seekers to outright independence sympathizers, were a major supporter of the street vendors at the site of the ‘Fishball Revolution’. After the ‘Fishball Revolution’ tapered off in early 2016, the second leg of post‐Occupy Central resistance began in the Legislative Council when prodemocracy as well as pro‐independence individuals ran for the Hong Kong Legislative Council or Legco elections. The study of political factionalism within Hong Kong serves as an important comparative case study in analysing other social movements in the Northeast Asian region.
Tai, B. (2018). Hong Kong No More: From Semidemocracy to Semiauthoritarianism. Contemporary Chinese Political Economy and Strategic Relations, 4(2), 395-430.
more...less...
After the Umbrella Movement in 201 4 in Hong Kong, the Chinese Communist Party adjusted its strategy towards Hong Kong. The systems in Hong Kong will have to be converted from semi-democratic to authoritarian by advancing the authoritarian rule of law in the territory to replace thicker understandings of the rule of law. Measures of authoritarian rule of law in the Hong Kong context include aggrandizing the Constitution of the People's Republic of China, normalizing the interpretation of the Basic Law by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, issuing decision on compatibility with the Basic Law by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, adding national laws to Annex III of the Basic Law, acting through the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government by enforcing existing laws, political prosecution, amending the Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council and making new laws through the HKSAR Government. The strategic goals of the authoritarian...

Britannica Academic
Includes a searchable collection of authoritative references, including Encyclopedia Britannica, and more. Search "Hong Kong"
Business Source Ultimate (via EBSCO)
Includes comprehensive full-text access of journals published in disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting economics and finance, and more. Search "Hong Kong" > Select "Country/Territory Report - Hong Kong SAR."
Passport
Includes information on the business environment, and more. Select "Economies" > "Business Dynamics" > "Hong Kong"
Statista
Statista provides statistical data on many topics. Enter a keyword "Hong Kong" to explore more result.

Business Education in Video (via Alexander Street)
The database provide access to videos in corporate training, case studies, executive interviews, expert lectures, instructional films, and documentaries on Globalization, Operations & Logistics, Management, Marketing, Finance, Strategy, Entrepreneurship, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, International Business, Negotiations, Ethics, Cross-cultural communication and Technology.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source (via EBSCO)
The database provides access to full-text resources for entrepreneurship and small business research. It covers more than 120 key periodicals, 140 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
SAGE Video
The database features more than 140 hours of video, including in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing.
萬方視頻 Wanfang Video
萬方視頻以提供學術視頻為目的，收錄科技、教育及文化相關內容。圖書館購買了鳳凰衛視的"世紀大講堂"及"開卷八分鐘"系列。
The resource provides access to over academic videos in Chinese language, covering a wide range of subjects including economics, management, history, literature, humanities and social sciences. Library has purchased "世紀大講堂" & "開卷八分鐘" series.

Hong Kong

Factiva
The database provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs in English and in Chinese.
WisersOne
The database provides full-text electronic newspaper clippings of Chinese and English newspapers Hong Kong, China, Taiwan, Macau and other countries.

Worldwide

BBC News
BBC News is an operational business division of the British Broadcasting Corporation responsible for the gathering and broadcasting of news and current affairs.
CNN.com
Cable News Network Web site featuring United States and world news, weather reports, and current events in subject areas such as business, sports, technology, health, entertainment, politics, law, travel, food, arts, and style. Includes video and audio segments

Regional Business News (via EBSCO)
This database provides full text access to 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

World News Asia
A comprehensive news portal using several hundred online news sources in 20 languages and presented in over 500 subject and geographical categories.

Consumer Price Index
Measures price movements of goods and services. From the Census and Statistics Department, Hong Kong Government.
Export Index from the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC).
The index is "designed to monitor the current export performance of Hong Kong traders and gauge their near-term prospects."
Nikkei Hong Kong PMI (Purchasing Manager's Index)
Released monthly. Provides up-to-date indicators of economic trends. Data is taken from questionnaires sent to purchasing executives.
Hang Seng Indexes
The major indicator of the performance of Hong Kong stock.
Hong Kong SME Leading Business Index Report
The quarterly survey aimed at SMEs and the public to provide insight into the upcoming business environment.
Report on Ｑuarterly Business Tendency Survey
Covers the business expectations of various sectors (including manufacturing, construction, retail, & more) in order to predict future economic performance. From the Census & Statistics Department, Hong Kong Government.

Economic and Trade Information on Hong Kong: Hong Kong Trade & Development Council
Economic Update: Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce
The Economist Intelligence Unit: Hong Kong
Gov.UK. Search "Hong Kong"
Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office (London)
Hong Kong Economic Situation: Hong Kong Economy
Prosperity Data360: The World Bank Group
UN Comtrade Database
USA.Gov. Search "Hong Kong"
World Bank Open Data. Search "Hong Kong"
World Economic Outlook Reports. Search "Hong Kong"
Worldwide Governance Indicators

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Economy
Economic and Financial Data for Hong Kong. From The Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
Producer Prices
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Household Expenditures
Hong Kong Year Book: The Economy
The World Fact Book: Hong Kong Economy
Economic and Trade Information on Hong Kong

Hong Kong

Worldwide

Business Laws and Regulations

Business law in Hong Kong by Srivastava, D. K. (Dhirendra K.), 1941- editor.
Call Number: KNR85 .B87 2020
ISBN: 9789626615423
Publication Date: 2020
Commercial law in Hong Kong by Sihombing, Judith, author.
Call Number: KNR85 .S54 2014
ISBN: 9789626615423
Publication Date: 2014
Corporate governance and compliance in Hong Kong by Jones, Gordon.
Call Number: KNR97.9 .J65 2015
ISBN: 988830075X
Publication Date: 2015
Enforcement of Corporate and Securities Law by Robin Hui Huang (Editor); Nicholas Calcina Howson (Editor)
Call Number: KNQ1060 .E54 2017
ISBN: 9781107164994
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Financial Markets in Hong Kong by Syren Johnstone; Paul Lejot; Douglas Arner; Berry Hsu; Say H. Goo
ISBN: 9780198706472
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
International Governance and the Rule of Law in China under the Belt and Road Initiative by Yun Zhao (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108332651
Publication Date: 2018-09-28

Michael, B. (2021). Competition law in the Asia-Pacific region makes small and medium enterprises poorer without innovation law. Journal of the Asia Pacific Economy, 26(3), 506-526.
more...less...
Based on international advice, most countries in the APEC region have now adopted competition laws. The more competition, the better - especially for the small and medium enterprises (SMEs) that most need to compete. Yet, 'better' competition laws (as measured by a range of characteristics commonly associated with competition law and policy rankings) may actually hurt trade and growth.
Lee, E. (2019). Equity crowdfunding in Hong Kong: Potential, challenges and investor protection. The Journal of Corporate Law Studies, 19(2), 277-302.
more...less...
Equity crowdfunding is a relatively new investment format that allows investors to purchase unlisted securities from a company that does not meet listing requirements for an initial public offering. Equity crowdfunding offers investment rewards but also has risks of fraud, herding, insolvency and dilution of shareholder equity. Regulation is a natural response to negative externalities like systemic risk caused by asymmetric information, adverse selection and lemon problems. While the US and the UK have extensive crowdfunding regulations, Hong Kong does not, although crowdfunding is not specifically banned under the Securities and Futures Ordinance. This article focuses on the current state of equity crowdfunding in Hong Kong but draws inspiration from legal requirements for equity crowdfunding in the US, the UK and Singapore, as well as the Korea Startup Market in South Korea. The author makes regulatory suggestions for consideration by Hong Kong's law-makers and policy-makers....
PRIMER: Hong Kong SARa's proposed data privacy ordinance changes. (2020). International Financial Law Review, International financial law review, 2020.
Yim, F., & Lee, I. (2018). Updates on Hong Kong’s anti-money laundering laws. Journal of Money Laundering Control, 21(3), 290-296.
more...less...
Purpose The purpose of this study is to discuss the latest developments of anti-money laundering (AML) laws in terms of case law and intended legislation amendments. Design/methodology/approach In terms of AML case law, the authors analyze three judgments from the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal. In terms of the intended legislation amendments, the authors outline salient points from the two amendment bills submitted to the Legislative Council of Hong Kong. Findings With the developments in AML case law and the intended legislation amendments, Hong Kong is expected to have a positive result in the Financial Action Task Force Mutual Evaluation in October/November 2018. Originality/value A robust AML/counter-terrorist financing regime is the bedrock of Hong Kong’s reputable status as an international financial center. This paper seeks to illicit meaningful interactions amongst all stakeholders.
Law, K., & Chan, A. (2017). Managing knowledge work in Asia Pacific contexts: Case studies of Hong Kong SMEs. Asia Pacific Business Review, 23(4), 475-492.
more...less...
This study explores how knowledge creation and sharing practices are fostered in a sample of small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Hong Kong. Our analysis indicates that three types of managerial interventions - initiating intervention, reinforcing intervention and aligning intervention - are particularly useful to promote knowledge management activities among employees. Such findings provide insights into researchers and managers on the important role of managerial interventions in knowledge management (KM) as well as the idiosyncrasies of KM in SMEs in Chinese societies.
Language

PrimeLaw (via Wolters Kluwer)
Combines and cross-links Hong Kong Tax Manual and Hong Kong Revenue Legislation which is a comprehensive and fully searchable annotated compendium of Hong Kong tax legislation and case law.
Lexis Advance® Hong Kong
The database provides access to thousands of materials for legal research. It contains legislation, cases, commentaries, journals, legal news, forms & precedents, dictionaries, practice notes, etc.
Westlaw Asia
Westlaw Asia is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories Hong Kong, Asia, United Kingdom and Australia.

Hong Kong

Law and Order

Corruption Reports
From Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC)
Key Figures and Statistics
From Department of Justice
Law and Order Statistics
From Census and Statistics Department
Law and Security Statistics
From DATA.GOV.HK
Money Laundering Statistics
From Joint Financial Intelligence Unit
Regulatory Alert
From Hong Kong Trade Development Council
Statistics
From Legal Aid Department

Hong Kong

Worldwide

Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) Resources

OneSearch

Ask a Librarian

RefWorks

Economic and Political Outline

Business Laws and Regulations