Skip to Main Content

Referencing and Citation

Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) (17th edition)

The University of Chicago Press devised The Chicago Manual of Style, often referred to as CMOS, CMS, or even Chicago, in 1906. It is a style sheet for American English and the styles of writing and citation prescribed in its 17 editions are commonly used in publishing. It is a renowned style guide that is widely used and revered in the United States. This manual especially places emphasis on American English and covers several components that fall under the purview of editorial practice, such as grammar, formatting, and document preparation. One can find its contents in the hardcover book or by subscribing to The Chicago Manual of Style Online, which is a searchable webpage. Individuals can avail certain free resources on its website.  

Include two citation systems:

  • Author-Date (AD) system — often used in Sciences and Social Sciences, and
  • Notes and Bibliography (NB) system — often used in Literature, History and Arts.
  • Most recent official resources:

Reference: The Chicago manual of style. (Seventeenth ed.). (2017). The University of Chicago Press.

Feature Summary

Features
In-text parenthetical citations of author(s) last name, publication year, and cited pages, followed by a reference.

Example
In-text citation
Nonrestrictive relative clauses are used to be parenthetic and introduced by conjunctions to indicate place or time (Strunk and White 2000).
OR
Strunk and White’s (2000) study indicates “Nonrestrictive relative clauses are parenthetic, as are similar clauses introduced by conjunctions indicating time or place.”

In reference list
Strunk, William, Jr., and E.B. White. 2000. The Elements of Style, 4th ed. New York: Allyn and Bacon.

Features
Uses notes (endnote or footnote), followed by a bibliography.

Example
Number in text
“Nonrestrictive relative clauses are parenthetic, as are similar clauses introduced by conjunctions indicating time or place.” ¹

Citation in note
The first time you cite a resource, it must be cited in full information. The subsequent notes may be shortened to author’s last name, abbreviated title (usually shortened if more than four words), and inclusive page number.

Full note
1. William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White, The Elements of Style, 4th ed. (New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000), 3.

Short note
2. Strunk and White, The Elements of Style, 3.

Bibliography
Strunk, William, Jr., and E.B. White. The Elements of Style, 4th ed. New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000.

Print Books

In-Text Citation

Reference List

Work by one author

Standard Format
(Author’s Surname Year, page number)

Example
(Charlesworth 2018, 8)
 

Standard Format
Author’s Surname, First Name., Year. Title: Subtitle.                         Publication city: Name of Publisher.

Example
Charlesworth, Alan. 2018. Digital Marketing : A Practical                 Approach. Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge.

Work by two to three authors

Standard Format
(1st and 2nd Author’s Surname Year, page number)


Example
(Menczer and Santo 2020, 48)

Standard Format
1st Author’s Surname, First Name., and 2nd author’s First               Name Surname. Year. Title: Subtitle. Publication city: Name        of Publisher.

Example
Menczer, Filippo, and Fortunato Santo. 2020. A First Course in       Network Science. Cambridge, United Kingdom: Cambridge        University Press.

Work by 4 or more authors

Standard Format
(1st Author’s Surname, et al. Year, page number)

Example
(Vermaat et al. 2017, 3)

Standard Format
1st Author’s Surname, First Name., First Name of 2nd Author’s       Surname and First Name of 3rd Author’s Surname. Year.           Title: Subtitle. publication city: Name of Publisher.

Example
Vermaat, Misty, Susan Sebok, Steven Freund, Jennifer T,               Campbell. and Mark Frydenberg (Mark E.). 2017.                       Discovering Computers 2018: Digital Technology, Data, and       Devices. Shelly Cashman Series. Boston, MA: Cengage                Learning.

Notes

Bibliography

Work by one author

Standard Format
Note Number. Author First Name Surname, Book Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), page number used.


Example
17. Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2012), 265.

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. Book Title. Publication City:                 Publisher, Year of publication.


Example
Strayed, Cheryl. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest        Trail. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.

Work by two or more authors

Standard Format
Note number. Author First Name Surname and Author First Name Surname, Book Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Pub.), page number used.

 

Example
11. Michael Patten, Guy McCaskie, and Philip Unitt, Birds of the Salton Sea: Status, Biogeography, and Ecology (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003), 37.

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name, and Author First                                   Name Surname. Title. Location of                                                 Publisher: Publisher, Year of Pub.


Example
Patten, Michael, Guy McCaskie, and Philip Unitt. Birds of the           Salton Sea: Status, Biogeography, and Ecology.                         Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003.
 

E-books

In Text Citation

Reference List

Work by one author

Standard Format
(Author Surname Year of Publication, Page Number)

Example
(Cooksey 2007, 79)

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. Year of Publication. E-book Title.       Publication City: Publisher. URL.

Example

Cooksey, Ray. 2007. Illustrating Statistical Procedures: For             Business, Behavioural & Social Science                                       Research. Australia: Tilde University                                                       Press, https://primoapac01.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/

      permalink/f/1jv06k7/TN_asp_summonBusiness

      EbooksOnlineASP2454621_bizp.

Notes

Bibliography

ebooks

Standard Format
Note Number. Author First Name Surname, E-book Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Pub.), URL.

Example
6. Peter Childs. Modernism. (London: Taylor and Francis, 2016), ProQuest Ebook Central.

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. E-book Title:                             Subtitle. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year. Format.


Example
Davidson, Donald, Essays on Actions and Events. Oxford:                Clarendon,2001.                                                                            https://bibliotecamathom.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/

      essays-on-actions-and-events.pdf

Journal Articles

In Text Citation

Reference List

Work one author   (In print)

Standard Format
(Author's Surname Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted)

Example
(Knapp  2013, 177)

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. Year of Pub. “Article                             Title.” Journal Name volume # (issue #): inclusive page               numbers.

Example
Knapp, J. 2013. "Safety and urban design – the role of CPTED       in the design process", Safer Communities 12 (4): 176-184.

Work by two or more authors         (In print)

 

Standard Format
(All author’s surname Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted)

Example
(Mathevet, Perego and Taneva 2020, 1375)

Standard Format
1st Author Surname, First Name and 2nd Author First                       Name Surname. Year of Pub. “Article Title.” Journal Name           volume # (issue #): inclusive page numbers.

Example
Mathevet, Laurent, Jacopo Perego, and Ina Taneva. 2020. "On       information design in games." Journal of Political Economy         128 (4): 1370-1404.

Journal Article (Online mode)

Standard Format
(All author’s surname Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted)

Example
(Mathevet, Perego and Taneva 2020, 1375)

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. Year of Publication. “Article Title.”         Journal Name volume #, no. issue # (Month Day of Pub):            inclusive page numbers. URL.

Example
Kirrmann, K. 2010. "CoolTan Arts ‐ enhancing well‐being                  through the power of creativity." Mental Health and Social              Inclusion, 14, (2): 12-16.                                                                 https://doi.org/10.5042/mhsi.2010.0236

Notes

Bibliography

Work by one author (In print)
 

Standard Format
Note number. Author First Name Surname, “Article Title,” Journal Name volume #, no. issue number (Month/Season Year): page number used.


Example
9. Christopher Coady, “AfroModernist Subversion of Film Noir Conventions in John Lewis’ Scores to Sait-on Jamais (1957) and Odds Against Tomorrow (1959),” Musicology Australia 34, no. 1 (2012), 26.

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. “Article Title.” Journal                           Name volume #, no. issue # (Month/Season Year): inclusive       page numbers.


Example
Coady, Christopher. “AfroModernist Subversion of Film Noir             Conventions in John Lewis' Scores to Sait-on Jamais (1957)       and Odds Against Tomorrow (1959).” Musicology                         Australia 34, no. 1 (2012): 1-31.

Online

Standard Format
Note number. Author First Name Surname, “Article Title,” Journal Name volume #, no. issue # (Month Day, Year of Pub), URL.


Example
10. Amy Tang, “Postmodern Repetitions: Parody, Trauma, and the case of Kara Walker,” Differences 21, no. 2 (2010)
https://doi.org/10.1215/10407391-2010-006.

Standard Format
Author Surname, First Name. “Article Title”. Journal Name               volume #., no. issue # (Year of Pub.): (page no.) URL/doi.


Example
Tang, Amy. “Postmodern Repetitions: Parody, Trauma, and the       Case of Kara Walker.” Differences 21, no. 2 (2010): 142-             172.https://doi.org/10.1215/10407391- 2010-006.
 

Websites

In Text Citation

Reference List

Corporate author

Standard Format
(Author Name Year of Pub)

Example
(World Wildlife Fund 2010)

Standard Format
Corporate Author. Year of Pub.Title of Site. Last modified or               Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

Example
World Wildlife Fund. 2010. WWF                                                      Worldwide. http://www.worldwildlife.org/home-full.html.

Notes

Bibliography

Single Page on Site

Standard Format
Note number. Author First Name, Initial Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.

Example
11.Richard Kimberly Heck, “About the Philosophical Gourmet Report,” Last modified August 5, 2016, http://rgheck.frege.org/philosophy/aboutpgr.php.

Standard Format
Corporate Author Name or Last Name, First of Author.           "Title of Page." Title of Site. Owner of the site if                 different from author. Last modified or Accessed               Month Day, Year. URL.

Example
Heck, Richard Kimberly. “About the Philosophical                   Gourmet Report.” Last modified August 5, 2016.               http://rgheck.frege.org/philosophy/aboutpgr.php.

** Generative AI Tools (e.g. ChatGPT) **

As of 29 March 2023, Chicago Manual suggested to treat texts generated by AI tools like ChatGPT as "Personal Communications".

  • ChatGPT will be listed as "author" of the content
  • OpenAI will be listed as the "organisation" that developed ChatGPT
  • The date that the text content being generated will be listed as "date"

In Text Citation

Reference List

Texts generated by AI tools

Standard Format
(Author Name, Date)

Example
(ChatGPT, 29 March, 2023)

(Personal Communications are NOT included in the bibliography)
 

 

Reference:

"The Chicago manual of style online - FAQ Item". The University of Chicago Press. Accessed March 28, 2023. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0422.html.

As of 29 March 2023, Chicago Manual suggested to treat texts generated by AI tools like ChatGPT as "Personal Communications".

  • ChatGPT will be listed as "author" of the content
  • OpenAI will be listed as the "organisation" that developed ChatGPT
  • The date that the text content being generated will be listed as "date"

Notes

Bibliography

Texts generated by AI tools

Standard Format
Note number. Text generated by Author, the date the text is generated, Title of the publisher, url (optional).

Example
11. Text generated by ChatGPT, March 29, 2023, OpenAI, https://chat.openai.com/chat.

(Personal Communications are NOT included in the bibliography)
 

 

Reference

"The Chicago manual of style online - FAQ Item". The University of Chicago Press. Accessed March 28, 2023. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0422.html.

As of 29 March 2023, Chicago Manual suggested to cite images created by AI generative tools using a brief in-text statement. 

  • Stable Diffusion XL will be listed as "AI Tool" of the content
  • Stability AI will be listed as the "organisation" that developed Stable Diffusion XL
  • The date that the text content being generated will be listed as "date"
             Notes Bibliography
Images generated by AI tools
            		 Standard Format

Note number. Name of AI tool response to "Text prompt used," the date the image is generated, Title of the publisher.
            

Example
11. Stable Diffusion XL response to "Academic library with 4 students having discussion in an open learning space, American Cartoon style," September 2, 2024, Stability AI.

            		 Standard Format

Name of AI Tool. Response to "Text prompt used." AI-generated image. Developer's Name, Date generated. 

 

Example

Stable Diffusion XL. Response to "Academic library with 4 students having discussion in an open learning space, American Cartoon style," AI-generated image. Stability AI, September 2, 2024.

 

In-text Citation

Suggested format:

“Description of image,” image generated by Title of the publisher's Name of AI tool, Date.

Example:

“Academic library with 4 students having discussion in an open learning space, American Cartoon style,” image generated by Stability AI's Stable Diffusion XL, September 2, 2024.

Reference:

The University of Chicago. "Citation, Documentation of Sources." The Chicago Manual of Style Online. Accessed November 1, 2024. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0423.html

Smart Tips

In-text citation:

  • In-text citation for Chicago should at least contain the author’s last name and the year of publication of your reference work (author-date style).

 
In reference list:

  • When preparing your reference list, the term “References” or “Works Cited” should be used as heading. No heading is required for subsequent pages.
  • For each entry, the first line should begin at the left margin. Subsequent lines should have a hanging indent.
  • All entries are arranged alphabetical by author’s last name.
  • Repeated author’s name should use a “3-em dash” in place of the name.

 
Paulo, Coelho. The Alchemist. London, Harper, 2006.
___. The Winner Stands Alone. London, Harper, 2010.

Title:

  • Capitalize all the first and last words in titles and subtitles, and all other major words.


Author:

  • Type only author(s) last names in the in-text citation.
  • In reference, type all author names in direct order, except the first author’s name. Put the last name of the fist author first, then the given name. 

 

No. of Author(s) In-text citation In reference list
1 Pitt Pitt, Martyn
2 Pitt and Clarke Pitt, Martyn, and Ken Clarke
3 Pitt, Clarke, and Mcaulay Pitt, Martyn, Ken Clarke, and Laurie Mcaulay
4+ Pitt et al. State all names


Publication year:

  • If the book has no date, use “n.d.”.


Publication place:

  • If the book has no publication place, use “n.p.”.

Number in text:

  • A superscript note reference number should be inserted in the text cited. (14.24)


Citation in note:

  • Do not raise the note number as superscript. (14.24)
  • If the bibliography includes all works cited in the notes, the notes can be formatted in the short form, even at first mention. (14.19)
  • If the work has no bibliography or only have a selected list, full details should be given in a note at first mention of any work cited; subsequent citations need only include a short form – the author’s last name, the title of the work and inclusive page. (14.19)



Bibliography list:

  • When preparing your bibliography list, the term “Bibliography” should be used as heading. No heading is required for subsequent pages.
  • For each entry, the first line should begin at the left margin. Subsequent lines should have a hanging indent.
  • All entries are arranged alphabetical by author’s last name.
  • Repeated author’s name should use a “3-em dash” in place of the name.

 
Paulo, Coelho. The alchemist. London, Harper, 2006.
___. The winner stands alone. London, Harper, 2010. 

Title:

  • Capitalize all the first and last words in titles and subtitles, and all other major words.
  • Shorten a book or article title that is more than four words in note. (Omit the initial article, such as a, an, the, and keep the only key words.)


Author:

  • In full note, type all author names in direct order.
  • In short note, type only author(s) last names.
  • In bibliography, type all author names in direct order, except the first author’s name. Put the last name first, then the given name. 
     
No. of Author(s) Full Note Short Note Bibliography
1 Martyn Pitt Pitt Pitt, Martyn
2 Martyn Pitt and Ken Clarke Pitt and Clarke Pitt, Martyn, and Ken Clarke
3 Martyn Pitt, Ken Clarke, and Laurie Mcaulay Pitt, Clarke and Mcaulay Pitt, Martyn, Ken Clarke, and Laurie Mcaulay
4+ Martyn Pitt et al. Pitt et al. State all names

 
Publication year:

  • If the book has no date, use “n.d.”.


Publication place:

  • If the book has no publication place, use “n.p.”.