English Language and Literature: Databases

The database covers contents of the former Cambridge Books Online & Cambridge Journals Online.

The database collection was formerly known as the BYU Corpora, which was created by Brigham Young University. It includes popular corpora such as British National Corpus (BNC) and Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA).

JSTOR provides full-text online access to back file of scholarly journals in the collection of Arts & Sciences, Asia Collection, Business & Economics, Language & Literature, Mathematics & Statistics as well as Lives of Literature. Ebooks with multidisciplinary academic titles from university presses and scholarly publishers are also available in this platform.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the study of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations and working papers dating back to 1973.

The database provides full-text access of biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors all time periods including novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.

The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides searchable access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. The MLA currently indexes more than 66,000 new items each year.

Net Languages provides online English courses for IELTS examination preparation. The Library subscribes to the following modules: (i) IELTS Preparation course, (ii) Additional IELTS Practice Tests, (iii) IELTS Writing Preparation and IELTS Speaking Preparation Course & (iv) Listening Practice.

Maximum simultaneous user(s): 10

The database provides access to millions of documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. The subjects include Business & Management, Computer Science, Economics & Finance, Mathematics & Statistics, Language & Linguistics, Professional & Applied Computing and Social Sciences.