Subject Guides: International Market Research: Consumer Profiles, Demographics and Statistics

Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports
Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is published by Euromonitor. It is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. For an online tutorial, see: http://go.euromonitor.com/Passport-Tutorial.html
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, finance, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.

Yearbook

China Statistical Yearbooks Database
It contains 590 statisitical yearbooks, in which around 150 titles are current titles. Coverage from 1949. In addition to browse the yearbooks. This database allows users to compare data different districts and have the result outputed to microsoft word or excel.
Demographic Yearbook
The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official demographic and social statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually to over 230 national statistical offices and have been published in the Demographic Yearbook collection.
Eurostat regional yearbook

Website

World Bank Development Indicators
Access World bank data
As a result of the World Bank's Open Data initiative the World Bank WDI dataset hosted by the UK Data Service are now freely available to all. Please refer to the Terms of Use for Datasets in The World Bank's Data Catalog.
Eurostat
EU statistics, including business and economy.
UK-Department for International Trade
UK government site for exporters.
Statista
Aggregates statistics from market research organizations, businesses and governments. Look for information under the 'Industries' or "Topics' options. A fee is charged for access to detailed data.
Household expenditure
From the Hong Kong Government Census and Statistics Department.
Market Research World
Market Research World (MRW) previously Market Research Portal (MRP) offers a host of online resources and research related articles relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research industry.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.