Subject Guides: E-Reference: Home

Selected e-Reference Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The database is a consolidated searchable collection of authoritative references, including Encyclopedia Britannica brief articles, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus, magazines and periodical, images, videos, websites and the Britannica book of the year.
CultureGrams (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The database provides basic facts and figures on more than 200 countries, with up-to-date reports detailing daily life and culture, history, customs and lifestyle from an insider's perspective.
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Translation Studies Online (via John Benjamins) This link opens in a new window The database provides access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods about translation and interpreting. Maximum simultaneous user(s): 15
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary is one of the largest, most comprehensive American dictionaries with illustrative quotations. It is built on the solid foundation of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The database provides authoritative and comprehensive records of the English Language in the world, tracing the evolution and use of more than 600,000 words through 3 million quotations. If you encounter any issues accessing the Oxford English Dictionary, please contact the Library for assistance: library@hsu.edu.hk.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window The database includes full text of around 150+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Subjects areas include business, social sciences, psychology, English language, computing, general reference, quotations, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online (via Taylor & Francis) This link opens in a new window The database provides an overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, and offers an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window The database supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. It contains books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, datasets and instructional videos.
- This link opens in a new window
中國經濟社會大數據研究平台 China Statistical Yearbooks Database (via 中國知網 CNKI) This link opens in a new window 此數據庫是一個有關中國經濟社會的統計、數據分析、多維度統計指標、快捷檢索及決策支持研究等資源的大型統計資料數據庫。 The database provides information including statistical resources, data analysis, multi-dimensional statistical indicators, quick retrieval and research support about China.
中華數字書苑 Apabi China Digital Library This link opens in a new window 此數據庫收錄圖書全文資源、全國各級各類報紙及年鑒、工具書、圖片等資源產品，涵括工商管理、經濟、歷史、文學及政治等範疇。 The database provides access to Chinese e-books from a variety of subjects, including business, management, economics, history, literature and politics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Please click here for more e-References databases.

E-Reference

Selected e-Reference Databases

Reference Materials by Subject