Skip to Main Content

Hong Kong Studies

Political and Economic Outline

  • Britannica Academic
    Includes a searchable collection of authoritative references, including Encyclopedia Britannica, and more. Search "Hong Kong"
  • Business Source Ultimate (via EBSCO)
    Includes comprehensive full-text access of journals published in disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting economics and finance, and more. Search "Hong Kong" > Select "Country/Territory Report - Hong Kong SAR."
  • China and the Modern World (via GALE)
    The database provide primary source materials on specific historical subjects. The Library has subscribed to one of the archives, "Hong Kong, Britain and China, Part I: 1841–1951" and "Hong Kong, Britain and China, Part II, 1965-1993" from China and the Modern World. The digitized materials provide detailed information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong during the periods.
  • Passport
    Includes information on the business environment, and more. Select "Economies" > "Business Dynamics" > "Hong Kong"
  • Statista
    Statista provides statistical data on many topics. Enter a keyword "Hong Kong" to explore more result.
  • Alexander Street Press. Business education video
    The database features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
     
  • Entrepreneurial studies source
    This database offers more than 120 key periodicals, 140 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV, one of the world’s largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
     
  • SAGE Video. Business and management collection
    A diverse collection features more than 140 hours of video, including in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing.
     
  • 萬方視頻 Wanfang Video
    The resource provides access to over 140 academic videos in Chinese language which are offered by Phoenix TV (鳳凰衛視) from the series “世紀大講堂”, covering a wide range of subjects including economics, management, history, literature, humanities and social sciences.

Hong Kong

  • Factiva
    Factiva provides access to global  news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs in English and in Chinese.
     
  • WiseNews
    WiseNews provides full-text articles from over 800 key newspapers and magazines, Websites from different countries including China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and the United States. It is updated daily to include today's news.

Worldwide

  • BBC News
    BBC News is an operational business division of the British Broadcasting Corporation responsible for the gathering and broadcasting of news and current affairs.
     
  • CNN.com
    Cable News Network Web site featuring United States and world news, weather reports, and current events in subject areas such as business, sports, technology, health, entertainment, politics, law, travel, food, arts, and style. Includes video and audio segments
     
  • Regional business news
    This database provides full-text access to 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
     
  • World News Asia
    A comprehensive news portal using several hundred online news sources in 20 languages and presented in over 500 subject and geographical categories. 
  • Nikkei Hong Kong PMI (Purchasing Manager's Index) 
    Released monthly. Provides up-to-date indicators of economic trends. Data is taken from questionnaires sent to purchasing executives.
     
  • Hong Kong SME Leading Business Index Report
    The quarterly survey aimed at SMEs and the public to provide insight into the upcoming business environment.
     
  • Quarterly Business Tendency Survey
    Covers the business expectations of various sectors (including manufacturing, construction, retail, & more) in order to predict future economic performance. From the Census & Statistics Department, Hong Kong Government.
     
  • Hang Seng Indexes
    The major indicator of the performance of Hong Kong stock.
     
  • Consumer Price Index Monthly report / Annual report
    Measures price movements of goods and services. From the Census and Statistics Dept, Hong Kong Government.
     
  • Export Index From the HKTDC.
    The index is "designed to monitor the current export performance of Hong Kong traders and gauge their near-term prospects."

Hong Kong

Worldwide